Domaine Leflaive & Domaine Leroy (20110507)

Had a unexpected simple lunch at Aoki, Japanese Restaurant who are famous for their Sashimi, Sushi or everything about Fish! My first time here and this 2hrs lunch will live in my memory forever as it was so…… dang delicious! Highly recommended.

Too many dishes of which I have lost count and forgot some of the name, here below are among the the best for the day:

  • 1. Raw White shrimp with sea urchin with Caviar on top
  • 2. White fish Sashimi with truffle and sesame oil which pair well with the leflaive
  • 3. O-toro & Chutoro Sashimi
  • 4. O-toro & Char O-toro sushi both sushi and sashimi served well with the Leroy, Yum!

We started with a white, the new venture of Domaine Leflaive’s – Meursault 1er Cru Sous le Dos d’Ane, a monopole (i think so). The wine also inherit Leflaive’s elegance and purity. Very good indeed indeed.

2007 Domaine Leflaive Meursault 1er Cru Sous le Dos d’Âne – France, Burgundy, Côte de Beaune, Meursault 1er Cru

  • Pop and poured and this friendly wine is already approachable with it’s easy going rich mid palate with very little oak influence on both nose and palate, which blend well with the ripe white fruits with a little touch of yellow fruits that underpinned by the fresh elegance mineral and rounded acidity. The finish is smooth and linger. A good Meursault that is fine with less usual powerful and oakiness.

We had a bottle of Sake before the red was served. Can’t remember much (I was trying hard to stop myself not to touch the bottle in front of me, the 1990 Domaine Leroy Les Beaux Monts) but it was quite good. Well, when my glass started to fill up by the vibrant color liquid, I can’t help but to grab the glass as soon as I can (need to behave a bit…..) as I wanted to know if the wine live up to the status…..

Frankly speaking, I have yet to be impressed by Leroy’s wines, be it Domaine (89 Boudots) and Maison (98 Chambertin). Ok ok… that’s just because I have yet try many of her wines, especially the top one. However, the 1990 Beau Monts today was blown me off and I’m truly impressed, from the bottle of my heart. Beaux Monts (11.39 HA), a relatively large parcel byBurgundystandards, produced up to 60,000 bottles annually hence it is quite easy to find in the market but also mean the quality can be very diverse.

From what I have read, Domaine Leroy, is unquestionably the reference standard fro Les Beaux Monts and I must admit that I was lucky enough to be able to drink this bottle, 1990 Domaine Leroy Les Beaux Monts. A utterly seductive wine, It was so delicious that I can’t help but keep my mouth stick to the glass!

1990 Domaine Leroy Vosne-Romanée 1er Cru Les Beaux Monts – France, Burgundy, Côte de Nuits, Vosne-Romanée 1er Cru

  • Very bright color of medium ruby core with light brownish hue. Absolutely beautiful aromas of spices that is soft and seductive boast from the glass with the background of sweet red and blue Pinot fruits, secondary flavors of autumn leaves, mineral and preserved plummish fruits that added better complexity and bring on to the fully mature, grand Cru like harmonious and balance yet this tasted so young with good energy, drive on the intense mid palate with transparency to the concentrated, sappy, rounded, polished mouth feel which culminated into the long, velvety finish with good depth and finesse. Low level of very fine, firm tannin presented at the very end which only added better depth to the wine and the focus and precision here is top class. Utterly delicious! Definitely a treat for my birthday. Buy – Yes.
This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

